Chile, Week 28 (Talca Stake, Jardín del Valle Ward)

This week flew by, as normal. This marks P-day number 3 that I have had to spend with doctors instead of having a normal preparation day. Hopefully it’s the last; I’m getting sick of tests to see if I’m sick. I didn’t react at all to the PPD test but they had to do some X rays and made me cough into little medical tubes just in case (I lived with a sister who has Tuberculosis so the mission and the government are taking a lot of precautions). The fun part is that I got to see the temple in Santiago! It’s so pretty! I couldn’t enter because it’s closed on Monday, but we walked around outside, bought a few things in the distribution center, and ate in the MTC. Santiago is like the New York of Chile and it was exciting to be in a big city after all my mission being in small towns.

Sister Missionaries at Santiago Temple

Sister Missionaries at the Santiago Temple

I forgot to mention that we changed houses a few weeks ago. I was really hoping the new house would have a normal working shower. That’s something I haven’t enjoyed my entire mission. I think I just have bad luck cause this house only has an ice cold shower and I almost cry every morning cause it’s so cold. Also our new neighbor is an Evangelical church so that’s fun. We get to hear them singing and shouting things in the mornings during our studies. haha.

We dropped a lot of people who just aren’t progressing and found a bunch of new families to teach. We’re really excited about the new people we found because I was getting depressed with people who say they want to be baptized but don’t want to do the preparation required.

We had a beautiful lesson with Alejandro. He’s the one who always acts like he’s so tough and doesn’t believe anything. He broke down and cried and it was all thanks to the powerful testimony of a member that came with us. The family also invited his family to a BBQ at their house and we are so grateful that he finally has a friend he feels comfortable with.

Iris continues progressing steadily and surely. She went to conference and liked it and couldn’t come to church this week but she is definitely reading the Book of Mormon and marking it and is determined to read and analyze the whole thing. I love her so much. She’s a professor and I like the ways she thinks about everything really thoroughly.

We almost dropped Claudio this week because he wasn’t progressing. It broke my heart to explain to him that we weren’t sure if we could keep teaching because it wouldn’t make any difference if he didn’t do his part. He explained that he has a lot of doubts every time that we teach him and he wants to ask but not in front of his daughter (she’s a member, 14 years old). She’s still forming her testimony and he is grateful for the way the Gospel blesses his family and doesn’t want HIS doubts to get in the way of that. It was really good that we could have an honest chat about everything. Now we know how to help him better and we’ll plan times to visit when his daughter isn’t around.

Something I love about the mission is that I get to convert to the Gospel all over again. I’ve always had a strong testimony and loved living the Gospel, but nobody ever attacked what I believed. Here, my beliefs are constantly attacked or made fun of and people have doubts about things I’ve never doubted before. When I study I have to imagine what it would be like to investigate the church if I didn’t trust in the Book of Mormon or the prophets or already have a testimony. I’m starting from the ground up again and studying everything. Never in my life have I studied the Bible so much. My conversion grows stronger and stronger as my testimony becomes more intellectual and not only spiritual. The Gospel is so perfect and I love going on the same journey as my investigators and gaining a new testimony with them principle-by-principle and one spiritual experience after another.

This church is true and I have no doubt about it. I feel so humbled to be part of God’s work and His glory. The work of salvation isn’t easy. If it wasn’t easy for Jesus Christ, being perfect, we can never expect it to be easy for us, being far from perfect. But it’s possible and it’s worth it, and it’s fulfilling. This is the most important thing you can be doing these days, so stop reading about it and start doing it! You’ll love it, I know!

Love,
Hermana Berbert

Leave a Reply

