Chile, Week 19 (Talca Stake, Jardín del Valle Ward)

This week I was working in a trio with two other sisters, Hermana Adorno and Hermana Bravo. It was really fun and I learned a lot from them both. My companion was helping out in La Florida and I think she learned a lot there too. The other sisters who are newer here are having a super tough time finding people to teach. I remember feeling the same way when we first got here too. This sector is different than any other. The people are richer and don’t want to let strangers into their house. Everything about the work is slower and what worked for me in other sectors doesn’t work here. Everyone that we found this week we are going to give to the other sisters so they have people to teach. It’ll be good for them because we found some really golden people. Now Hermana Mendoza and I have to find more!

Something I’m learning is that the hardest part of changing is making the commitment to do it! Once we are fully committed, we don’t ever have to decide again. For example, when I was a kid I decided that I’m always going to go to church every Sunday. If I hadn’t decided earlier I would have to think every Sunday morning, “Am I going to go this week or not?” It might be something hard for me if I hadn’t already decided that I’m always going to go. It’s not hard because I don’t hesitate, I don’t think about it, I’m not tempted to give in, I just go. I love church, haha, but that was just an example. When we need to change, the hardest part is just deciding to do it and from then on out, we can act without thinking because we already decided.

Ahhh!! Next week we have transfers (I think that’s what it’s called in English). Anyway, I have a strong feeling that I’ll be training a newbie. I’m excited. I don’t know if I’ll be in a new sector or if I’ll stay here, but we’ll see what happens. I’m excited but it will be sad if I have to go. I have found some people here that I really love a lot. Never before in the mission have I felt so strongly that I knew these people before this life. It’s so cool. I really hope I can come visit people after my mission. I really want to stay in contact with everyone!!! I love you all and I pray for you always! Thanks for writing me!!!!

Love,
Hermana Berbert

Leave a Reply

