Chile, Week 17 (Talca Stake, Jardín del Valle Ward)

This week Carolina and Pablo got married! Woohoo! It was super beautiful and they both cried. I’ll admit, I cried a little bit too. The whole ward helped plan everything and Hermana Mendoza and I spent lots of time this week helping sew the wedding dress, I made a flower thing for the bride’s hair, and we cooked and cleaned and decorated. The wedding was beautiful. Everyone in the ward showed up and the couple was super happy. I even caught the bouquet! Maybe the first time a missionary has caught the wedding bouquet….I’m going to give it to one of our investigators and tell her she’s next. We’ve been trying to get her to marry her boyfriend for a while. (-;   Anyway, we stopped by the house afterwards in the night and there was a huge party with all their family. There was tons of alcohol. NOOO!! But no worries, Carolina and Pablo didn’t drink a drop. In fact, when we came, they let us sing a hymn and offer a prayer with everyone. Carolina is totally ready for her baptism this week. Yay! Another family! Their kids are gonna be the best missionaries. Also, we already planned out their date to be sealed in the temple. Next year, August 16th. It’ll be right before I head home. I really hope I can go! What a great way to end the mission!

Tomás is a cute little grandpa from the south. He is so funny and sweet. Everybody loves him to death. This week in one of our lessons he said, “I have a question. Why is it that every time we pray or I’m in the church I just want to cry?” We explained that what he was feeling was the Spirit. Oh, I love this little old man so much. It takes everything I have to restrain from hugging him. He’s preparing for his baptism the week after Carolina. Also, we found out his daughter is a member!! She’s less active but we are teaching her at the same time and she is slowly reactivating too.

Nicole is the same age as us and has a little baby who is sooooo cute. She went to church for the first time this week and it was Fast Sunday. She’s super great, really sensitive to the Spirit and understands everything super well. The only thing is that she works Sundays so it’s really hard for her to make it to church. It was a miracle that she made it this Sunday and I was praying like crazy that she would have a spiritual experience so that she will do whatever it takes to keep coming. What happened was truly a miracle. I have never been in a more spiritual sacrament meeting than this week. The Spirit was so strong and the testimonies so sincere. I think the entire congregation was crying. It was so powerful. Nicole got emotional too. She loved it!! She told us that she wants to have spiritual experiences too so that one day she can share them at the pulpit like the members.

Anyway, the work is going great. Everyday we see more miracles. I love the people here more than I thought was possible. God is pouring out the blessings. There are a couple people we are teaching that I connect with in a way I can’t explain. I have no doubt we were friends before this life. There is no way I could feel so much love for them so quickly otherwise.

Something I feel like God has been trying to teach me all my life is patience. My personality is kind of a clash of passion without patience. I have tons of dreams and I always want to make them happen as soon as possible. This week I learned that patience is the key to enjoying the journey. We all have goals in life and those who seek after their goals without patience are only focusing on the end result and until they get there, don’t enjoy anything along the way. It’s kind of like the difference between the crazy driver who rushes and stresses and floors it until they crash and the driver who has the windows down and their music up as they cruise to their destination. They are both gonna make it to their destination, but only one enjoys the journey. The difference is that one driver has patience and the other does not. I’m learning to have patience with myself and with those we are teaching and I’m enjoying the process a lot more. Anyway, that’s my little spiritual advice for the week. Did you read D&C 138 yet? If not, read it this week! It’s so cool!

Anyway, I want to make a shout out to my darling, amazing, beautiful little sister Emily. It’s her birthday this week!! She is growing up way too fast. Everyone please hug her to death for me. I love and miss her so much.

Love you all!
Hermana Berbert

Leave a Reply

