Chile, Week 14 (Talca Stake, Jardín del Valle Ward)

Las Hermanas de Jardín del Valle

Las Hermanas de Jardín del Valle

It was so great to meet my new mission president and his wife this week! I’m so excited to be in the mission Rancagua. Honestly when my mission changed to Rancagua, it just felt right. President Warne visited us in Talca this week and I felt the Spirit so strongly. Everything they said related to experiences I’ve had in my life. I feel like everything that’s EVER happened to me was preparing me to be where I am right now. The Lord knew what was going to happen and He knows where I need to be. The Lord`s hand was so obvious this week in all the work that we did. We saw so many miracles–so many situations that worked out so perfectly that only God could have planned them.

Chile chili peppers

Chile chili peppers

Things are progressing really well. We had tons of new investigators that we invited to baptism! Not all of them accepted, but they all agreed to keep learning and we’ll help them get there. We also had some investigators come to church for the first time. A cute little old man named Tomas. He’s from the South and so funny. When we showed up at his house to pick him up for church he opened the door before we could finish knocking. Everyone was super friendly and loved him to death. He was super happy with his adventure. We also brought a Mom named Paz (her name means peace) and her two kids. They are twins and they are both 7 years old. Although they started punching each other in the middle of sacrament, Paz still really enjoyed it and we are hoping her husband can come with her next Sunday. We are still working with Carolina. She has been investigating the church for YEARS and finally decided to act. She is living with a member who was less active. Now he is active again and they are going to get married and she is going to get baptized right after. Everyone in the ward is helping us plan the wedding. She’s going to sew her own dress so it can be modest and yesterday I helped her sketch out some ideas of how she wants it to look.

P1010961_zpsed25befb-1

My companion and I are super grateful we will stay together for another transfer (Rancagua had transfers this week). We work really well together and learn a lot from each other. I love Hermana Mendoza!!! We are also super excited that 2 more sisters are coming to Jardín del Valle. Before we got here, this ward hadn’t seen a baptism for over a year. We already had one baptism in the last few weeks and are planning more. Everyone in the ward is getting excited about missionary work and helping us out a ton.

Sister Mendoza and I with our trusty umbrellas

Sister Mendoza and I with our trusty umbrellas

It rained and rained and rained and rained this week. I’m pretty sure that if I didn’t have my umbrella I would have drowned standing on the ground. They say that Talca is like Paris and London because it rains like Paris and it’s foggy like London. It’s a good thing I like the rain. Also, I haven’t been sick the whole mission, but they gave us a vaccine for the flu and I got sick. )-: We worked anyway. I choked out my testimony until my voice was gone and my poor companion had to explain everything. All I could do was nod fervently beside her. I felt like when I started the mission all over again because I couldn’t talk. At least this time I could understand! Haha

"Talca, Paris, & London," a common phrase in Talca

“Talca, Paris, & London,” a common phrase in Talca

Honestly, starting out the mission was pretty hard. Satan was attacking me with everything, it seemed like. The mission wasn’t exactly what I expected and sometimes I wondered why I was sacrificing so much for such hard work. What I’m learning is that God literally can change hearts when we ask with faith. He is making me into someone new, someone better, and gives me the strength to do whatever it is He needs at the time. All I have to be is ready, willing, and obedient. I started praying that God could help me love the mission. It was something that I thought would come naturally, but for me it didn’t. I can literally feel my heart change. I LOVE the mission. I love being here in Chile. I love serving. Although I love my family and friends and look forward to being with them again, I don’t want to be anywhere else right now. I know the church is true. I know it without a single doubt. I know that God is a God of miracles. I know He is my Heavenly Father and loves me enough to give me what I ask for in faith. I know that I’m where I’m supposed to be, doing what I’m supposed to do right now.

The beginnings of a beautiful sunset

The beginnings of a beautiful sunset

LOVE you all!

P.S. I’m gonna have even less time to write now because the Rancagua mission has a shorter time limit for writing, but I still love you even if I don’t have time to express it!

Hermana Berbert

Leave a Reply

