Chile, Week 10 (Constitución)

With my companion, Hermana Martinez

With my companion, Hermana Martinez

So the big exciting news is that I got a last-minute transfer today. I’ve only been with Hermana Martinez for 4 weeks so it was unexpected. I really didn’t think I was going to leave Constitución. I love it here so much and we are really starting to have a lot of success. Today we went to the beach with one of our converts, Hermana Clara. It was really beautiful and we just goofed around and took photos in the morning. There is not enough time to say goodbye to everyone and I’ve been crying a lot today. I’m going to transfer to Talca which is closer to the mountains and a lot colder. It’s also more city than here. Conti (Constitución) is tiny and everyone knows each other. I love it and really feel at home here. I’ll be opening a new sector for sisters. I’m officially in the Rancagua mission to stay so that’s a big change too. I’m excited to see what new adventures are in store but Conti will always have a special place in my heart. I don’t think there is a sector more beautiful in the world!

Fresh crabs, anyone?

Fresh crabs, anyone?

I’m gonna miss my Latina sisters a lot. I’m the only gringa in the house and I’ve been teaching them some English phrases. 🙂 Their favorite is “Hey Baby” and they say it all the time to each other. haha. I like messing with them and I taught one of them that when she needs to use the bathroom she could say , “Time to water the plants!” She kept practicing it and every time she said it I just cracked up. Today I finally told her what it really meant. They also like to sing “Scripture Power” and “Head, Shoulder, Knees, and Toes.”

Saying goodbye to Clara and her daughter

Saying goodbye to Clara and her daughter

Anyway, I still have to say goodbye to everyone and pack my suitcases. I really was not prepared at all for this transfer. Again I’m learning to live more in the moment. I wish I had written my converts and told them how much I loved them when they were first baptized. Now I don’t have much time and I have to leave! I wish I had printed photos to give them. I’m still gonna try to send stuff later. Life just happens so fast. I really want to learn to live so that I’m prepared for anything. Don’t know if that’s possible…. hahaha but I’m gonna try to learn it.

An appropriate place to take a photograph

An appropriate place to take a photograph

Also I’m gonna learn to live life uncomfortably yet happily. That’s my advice to you all. Life will never be comfortable. I’m always tired and almost always hungry and very often emotionally overwhelmed, but if I let the little things get to me, I’ll never enjoy anything. I think a big test of this mortal life is if we can find joy despite feeling uncomfortable in one way or another. I’m learning to enjoy the little things. A chocolate bar (ok, let’s be honest, that’s a big thing). But the joy of hearing a song I like in the morning or being able to sit on a comfortable couch or to hug someone that I love. These are the greatest things in the world.

Pretty scenery (and a pretty missionary)

Pretty scenery (and a pretty missionary)

So I also think that the reason missionaries eat so much is cause we are so tired all the time! There is no other way to try to get more energy than to eat. We don’t have time to sleep or rest so our body’s natural reaction is to eat and try to fuel us up for everything we have to do. That’s my theory. The sad part is that it doesn’t even work! We still feel super tired after. Sometimes I feel like a zombie, why am I soooooo tired!!!??

Part of our scenic hike in the Andes mountain region

Part of our scenic hike in the Andes mountain region

LOVE!!!
Hermana Berbert

A memorable hike into the mountains

A memorable hike in the mountains

Leave a Reply

