Chile, Week 4 (Constitución)

Sister missionaries at zone conference on April 30, 2013

Sister missionaries at zone conference on April 30, 2013

Sister Lovell providing some extra humor there in the back of the group

Sister Lovell providing some extra humor there in the back of the group

Whew. Who knew that the mission is the best marriage and family prep class ever?? People told me that before the mission, but I didn´t really get it until now! No wonder less than 5% of marriages between return missionaries end in divorce! First of all, companionships really are like marriage cause you are together ALWAYS. There are times when we have to be serious and down to business and other times that we are the biggest goofballs and just have fun together. Our investigators are like our children. It really feels that way! We love them so much and they are so young in the gospel. All we can do is teach them everything we know and then eventually they have to be off on their own. We are soooo grateful when people are nice to our converts and take care of them. Now I understand a little better how Heavenly Father must feel about each of us. He loves His children so much and he must be so grateful for anything we do to serve and take care of those around us. I´m so grateful when people are nice to my converts.

Baptism of Jorge and Yovana

Baptism of Jorge and Yovana

We had my favorite baptisms yet this week!! If I´m allowed to have favorites…. Yovana and Jorge. They both got baptized and they have a little 4-year-old son who I just love to pieces. They are the cutest family ever!!! They are determined that they are going to do this right. A lot of new converts have a hard time with wearing skirts to church or going to activities or that kind of thing, but not these two! The next Sunday, they showed up in their Sunday best and received the Holy Ghost. I almost cried when I saw them. They fit in so well, you would never guess they are new. Jorge is going to get the priesthood soon and the family is already planning to go to the temple in a year to be sealed. I´m so happy for them. I can´t even explain it.

Yovana and Jorge with their son Alonso

Yovana and Jorge with their son Alonso

Baptism of Jorge and Yovana (4-year-old son Alonso on the left, friend on the right)

Baptism of Jorge and Yovana (4-year-old son Alonso on the left, friend on the right)

Alonso taking care of the purse

Alonso taking care of the purse

I love my companion so much. I can´t even think about that our time together is almost up. How can that be?? I just got here! It will be interesting to see what happens in this next transfer. Some of the missions are changing around so if I stay here in Constitution then I´ll become part of the Rancagua mission. Then I´ll be in the same mission as David Archuleta, haha. My companion thinks I´m going to train this next transfer. With so many new missionaries, a couple people have had to train before they finish their own training. The idea kind of scares me because I still am soooo new, but I know that who the Lord calls, He qualifies. Whatever He needs, the Lord can make us equal to the task. What scares me the most is that it´s still hard for me to understand Chileans. It really is like a different language than I learned in the MTC! Someone will say something in Chilean and I don´t understand it and my companion says the exact same thing again in Spanish and I can understand. I´m not exaggerating when I say that the accent is super different. It´s funny.

So it´s almost winter here, which means tons of rain! We had our first rain a few days ago. My companion and I were not prepared at all and neither of us even owns an umbrella yet. It was hilarioius. We had ward council meeting that night and we showed up absolutely drenched. The Bishop thought we must have thought we swam there. Today, we went shopping with Solange (got baptised last week) and she helped us get a few things to be more prepared for winter.

Also, I never wanted to be one of those missionaries who stops trying to look nice in the mission field, but I might give up soon. Haha. At least in South America, it´s like camping full time! I love camping! I might as well be. I sleep in a sleeping bag, get eaten by bugs, and we aren´t able to cook or clean much. I just have to kind of get used to the dirt. My hair dryer died after a couple days here and the other day I tried to plug in a straightener and there was a little firework/explosion…. Not sure what happened there, but it´s broken now too and we lost all the power in our apartment for the day. Losing power is also not abnormal. It´s kinda fun when we are scribbling in our notebooks or reading scriptures by candlelight. We feel like monks or something. The most I´ve gone is 2 days without showering… somehow the electicity, light, and water are all connected so when we lose one, we lose them all. Also, I´m gaining a lot of weight. It´s just bound to happen. What can you do? I have to eat whatever people give me. Oh well. The mission is an adventure! But don´t judge when I don´t quite look myself in pictures…. or maybe I should just stop sending them. 😉

Lots of Love,
Hermana Berbert

One thought on “Chile, Week 4 (Constitución)

  1. Hermana,
    I keep meaning to leave a comment! You are such a fabulous example, I need to start reading this blog to my girls! I’m truly impressed by your positive attitude. It’s so refreshing and uplifting. I regret not serving a mission (if the age had been lowered back then I would have gone for sure!) and look forward to when Jeff and I can serve together.
    Don’t worry one bit, you still look gorgeous! If I could look that good without power, I’d be all set!

    luvs,
    aby

Leave a Reply

