Week 6 in the MTC – Leaving for Chile on Monday!

Packing for Chile...

Packing for Chile…

... or adjusting to compressed sleeping accommodations in the overcrowded MTC?

…or adjusting to compressed sleeping accommodations in the overcrowded MTC?

It’s the last week at the MTC and I’m a bit sad to leave! However, my excitement to get to Chile is stronger than any other emotions I’m feeling so it’s all good. All the people going to Argentina in my district have to stay at least another week and probably get reassigned for a while because they still don’t have visas. That’s been tough for some of them. I’m glad Chile is cool about their visas and I don’t have to worry about that. I was comparing travel plans with another sister in my district. She has a 30-minute plane ride (she’s going to Colorado) and I’ll be traveling for 30 hours. We both thought that was kind of funny. I’ve never traveled for so much time in my life. Unless you count road trips. I don’t. (= Our district president was saying how we still need to look like missionaries an be presentable while we travel so I still have to be dressed up even though I’ll be traveling all day and overnight. Haha, doesn’t sound too comfortable but I don’t care. I can’t wait. I’m excited to be back in the “real world;” not that the MTC isn’t real, but there we don’t teach real investigators. I’m hoping I get the chance to talk to some people about the gospel while we travel. Since I’m the travel leader I might be able to choose my seat and put myself by someone who isn’t a missionary. We’ll see what happens.

Yesterday we had an orientation that lasted nearly 10 hours to prepare us for working in the field. It was crazy awesome. I went to bed so pumped and woke up feeling the exact same excitement. I feel like I always wake up excited here and it’s usually before the alarm goes off, too, so I just lay in my bed and plan what I’m going to teach people that day. I love this feeling. I love being on a mission!!! It still doesn’t feel real yet.

Something they said at the orientation was, “You are going to be nervous for the first 100 people you talk to on your mission. So you can either be nervous for 100 days and talk to one person a day or talk to 100 people your first day and get it over with.” I love that and I would much rather just talk to everyone. Even though my Spanish is a lot better than it used to be, I still feel like I don’t know anything. They also quoted Elder Holland who said, “There should be an ambulance waiting for you as soon as you step off the airplane home because you worked soooo hard.”

One of the quotes that we hear a lot at the MTC is “Obedience brings blessings. Exact obedience brings miracles.” Hearing this has led me to wonder, “What exactly is a miracle?” So many things seem like miracles in my life. To me, a miracle is something that wouldn’t happen without faith. It’s when amazing things happen that don’t just happen on their own, but with faith they are possible. I have seen miracles in my life. I’ve seen the power of the preisthood do amazing things. I’ve seen the Lord guide my life and lead me to people that have changed me forever. However, the greatest miracle of all is the change of heart that comes when peope repent and truly change their lives. This cannot happen without faith. Not only does the person being taught need faith, but we need faith as missionaries as well. It can change everything.

Hermana Peterson, one of the sisters in my MTC district

Hermana Peterson, one of the sisters in my MTC district

They told a story at orientation about when President Monson was a mission president in Canada. They had an area in the mission called Kingston that nobody ever wanted to get assigned to. They had only had one baptism in many years and the place had a terrible reputation so nobody had faith when they arrived that they would have any success. President Monson shut the area down for a while, until all the missionaries who knew about its bad reputation had left. His wife found a story about way back in the day when Brigham Young had traveled to Kingston and baptized 45 people in 30 days! They shared this with the missionaries, opened up the mission, and suddenly everyone wanted to go there! They didn’t realize the history the area had and they entered, full of faith, and baptized like crazy. It became the highest baptizing area in the mission. It’s all about faith and never lowering our expectations! That’s how miracles happen!

2 friends who teach in the MTC

2 friends who teach in the MTC

Sooooooooooooo excited for conference! Everyone enjoy watching and look out for a KSL special they are showing about the MTC in-between sessions on Sunday at 12 noon. It sounds pretty exciting and they filmed us singing “Like Ten Thousand Legions Marching” (Hymn #253) in the choir. I was lucky to get in. There were 10,000 legions of people who came and wanted to sing! Amazing.

Love you all!
-Hermana Berbert

Leave a Reply

