Starting Week 3 in the MTC…

Hello World!

This week has been amazing. It’s such a special feeling to be a missionary. I can literally feel the millions of prayers being offered for the missionaries everyday. Thank you for your prayers. The missionary schedule is insane and sometimes I feel so overwhelmed with how much I still have to learn. I’m almost halfway through my time here at the MTC and it’s hard not to think I have to be fluent in Spanish by the time I leave. I heard a quote that really helped me relax though. It’s by Elder Cecil O. Samuelson.

“Just as we should not lower the standards that the Lord has established for the conduct of His servants, we are also not authorized to raise them… Be sure that you do not have higher standards for yourself or others than the Lord has established.”

I know that God doesn’t expect me to be fluent in Spanish or a perfect teacher before I leave, so I shouldn’t stress out or expect that of myself either. Also, someone told me that to say, “I can’t do it” is to deny the authenticity of your call. The Lord has called me to be a missionary because He knows I can do it.

During gym one day, I was riding a bicycle machine by a window and watching the sun rise. As I watched it rise, I thought about how I couldn’t actually see the sun move or the light spread across the valley. It’s progress was steady and so slow that it’s imperceptible to my eyes, but every few minutes I could tell that the world was a little brighter and the light spread a little farther. Progress is often that way. We can’t see the change inside ourselves because it is so gradual. But every once in a while, when we look back we can see how far we’ve come. I haven’t been here very long, but already I know I’ve changed a lot since I first got here. I’ve learned SOOO much. It’s really a miracle to see how the gospel changes lives. As people study it regularly, their hearts change. They want to be better and life becomes hopeful, happy, and beautiful. This is what I want to bring to the people in Chile. 

I hope all of you realize this as well. Don’t try to expect too much of yourself all at once. Lasting change is usually gradual and slow. Something that helps me is to write in a journal so that I can go back and really see how much I’ve changed with time. Just take it a day at a time!

It’s been a fantastic week. Millions of thanks for all the letters and packages I’ve received this week. They really helped me to keep going and I’ve never felt so happy when I get mail in my life. It really makes my entire week. The Gospel is amazing. I know it’s true. I know it changes lives. I love and miss you all!!

Leave a Reply

