Faith to Heal, and also to Walk on Water?

Everyone in my first district, my companion on the very left

Everyone in my first district, my companion on the very left

The MTC is the greatest! I’m having so many adventures. It makes me wonder what’s going to happen once I get out to Chile, because that’s when the real adventures are supposed to happen, but it’s been pretty crazy already here! So my companion recovered from her illness, yay! She actually received a priesthood blessing from the elders in our district and it was the first time for some of them that they ever got to give one! Wow, I love the priesthood power. That was actually the first time I cried at the MTC was during that blessing. Since then I’ve cried a lot. I’m just so happy and feel the Spirit here all the time. I also fasted for my companion that Sunday and the next day she was completely better!

Friends from college in my first district - Hermana Harris and Hermana Frederickson

Friends from college in my first district – Hermana Harris and Hermana Frederickson

So we went back to work. Although, we’ve hardly had a normal day still. The very next day after she got better I woke up at 5:30ish to a knock on our door. I was super confused why someone would be knocking at that hour in the morning and jumped out of bed to answer…..and jumped into a puddle of water! Talk about a super confusing wake up call. Someone had left the water running in the Janitorial closet running all night and our room happens to be right across the hallway from it! The apartment was flooded with water about an inch deep. Luckily, I’m going to Chile and it’s supposed to rain all the time there, so my waterproof bag protected all my important things. Everything else except some clothes in my laundry bag and suitcases were off the ground so they were fine. They were super prepared and cleaned it up pretty quickly with these giant vacuum things. Our carpet was damp and kinda smelled for a few days but it’s back to normal now and I got a chance to try out my shower shoes haha. I’ll have to wear those everyday in Chile.

Faith to walk on water...

Faith to walk on water…

Our carpet

Our carpet

Wet stuff

Wet stuff

Wet stuff

Wet stuff

OH! And also, my mailbox number changed AGAIN. I’m not even sure why, but it’s #146 now so make sure to write my address that way if you send something. The MTC mail people are getting super confused about my mail lately and I sent a picture with an argument I noticed written on one of my letters and different districts tried to figure out where it belonged!!

Confusing mailbox changes

Confusing mailbox changes

Despite all the craziness, I’m learning Spanish so fast! Our district speaks in Spanish almost all the time and it’s great practice. Most of them are all going to Argentina, a few to the United States, and I’m the only one going to Chile, but one of my teachers served in Chile so that’s cool! He was way more south than me though and had penguins in his mission. We taught our first investigator everyday this week and that was really cool. They gave us almost no guidance so it was really hard to know what to do, but they wanted us to experiment and figure out what things worked for us. The hardest part was that there were so many feelings in my heart that I wanted to say to our investigator, Pablo, but I just didn’t know how to in Spanish so I could only say a simple testimony and hope that the Spirit would say the rest.They tell us that the most important language we learn at the MTC is the language of the Spirit anyway.

Evidences of the sisters taking over the MTC everywhere, and they are already helping bring about "conversions." :-) This used to be a men's restroom, and they wanted to make sure Elders were aware of the conversion.

Evidences of the sisters taking over the MTC everywhere, and they are already helping bring about “conversions.” 🙂 This used to be a men’s restroom, and they wanted to make sure Elders were aware of the conversion.

I’m sorry, but I’m out of time, we only get a few minutes to email once a week, but thank you all for the letters from my family, Casey, Chelsey, Quintin, and Aunt Sheila! I have never been so happy to receive mail in my life. It’s crazy how cut off we feel from the outside world here so any news is appreciated. I love you all and I appreciate your support so much. Thanks to everyone who is reading this blog. Sorry about the spelling mistakes, I think I caught most of them and maybe my Dad will help fix the rest, but learning Spanish makes me spell everything wrong in English.

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE,

Hermana Berbert (=

Having fun with my breakfast

Having fun with my breakfast

Leave a Reply

